Sen. Tim Scott Receives D. James Kennedy Christian Statesman Award

NRB | September 21, 2023 | Member News

The D. James Kennedy Center for Christian Statesmanship presented its 2023 Distinguished Christian Statesman Award to Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.), on Tuesday, September 19, in Washington, D.C. Given annually since 1996, the award seeks to honor individuals who combine excellence in public service with character and faith in God.

“The future of our nation depends in large part on the character and integrity of our leaders,” said Dr. Rob Pacienza, President & CEO of D. James Kennedy Ministries. “We are grateful for Sen. Scott’s commitment to stand boldly for truth and righteousness in his service to God and our nation and are honored to present him with this year’s Distinguished Christian Statesman Award.”

Scott, in his remarks, underscored the importance of gratitude to the Lord.

“We should stop and thank the Lord that we live in an America, where any kid from any zip code can rise beyond their circumstances and achieve their version of the American Dream. That’s possible because our founding fathers crafted a country based on a rock, the Lord God,” said Scott, in dynamic remarks. “We have troubles. We have challenges. We have things that make us fearful in this nation but remember: Greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world.”

Scott is an American statesman and entrepreneur who has served as the junior United States Senator from South Carolina since 2013. His career in public service spans several levels of government, including positions in the South Carolina House of Representatives, the U.S. House of Representatives, and as a city councilor in Charleston, South Carolina.

“Sen. Scott is a prime example of a true Christian Statesman who is living out his Christian faith in public life,” said Lauren Cooley, executive director of the D. James Kennedy Center for Christian Statesmanship. “He stands strong for biblical beliefs through both his words and actions, making him a worthy recipient of this year’s award.”

Established in 1995 by NRB member D. James Kennedy Ministries, the D. James Kennedy Center for Christian Statesmanship is a Christian-based outreach to the Nation’s leaders. In 1966, Dr. Kennedy, alongside the Center for Christian Statesmanship board of directors, inaugurated an annual award, the Distinguished Christian Stateman Award, to promote faith, virtue, and excellence in public service. The award recognizes those whose commitment to Christ and love for the country compels them to live out their Christian faith in public life and stand for truth and righteousness in government. According to D. James Kennedy Ministries, the recipient of the award serves as the “benchmark” to which other men and women in positions of influence and authority should strive to attain.

Faithfully committed to both evangelism and cultural renewal, Dr. Kennedy’s motto for the ministry, which continues today, is “excellence in all things, and all things to the glory of God.”

Past award recipients include former Sen. John Ashcroft (R-Miss.) (1996), former Sen. Sam Brownback (R-Kan) (2000), former Rep. J.C. Watts (R-Okla.) (20001), former Rep. Mike Pence (R-Ind.) (2008), former Rep. Randy Forbes (R-Va.) (2009), Rep. Joseph R. Pitts (R-Pa.) (2012), former Gov. Mike Huckabee (R-Ark.) (2013), Sen. John Boozman (R-Ark.) (2014), Senator James Lankford (R-Okla.) (2015), former Gov. Matt Bevin (R-Ky.) (2016), former Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.) (2017), former Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.) (2018), former Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos (R-Mich.) (2019), former Rep. Bob McEwen (R-Ohio) (2020), former Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.) (2021), and Lieutenant Governor Winsome Earle-Sears (2022).

NRB congratulates Sen. Tim Scott on receiving this distinguished award. To learn more, visit

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial