Rep. Frank Wolf Receives NRB Faith & Freedom Award

At its annual President’s Council Capitol Hill Media Summit this week, NRB presented the 2014 Faith & Freedom Award to Congressman Frank Wolf (R-VA). “Congressman Wolf is a passionate man of faith and a champion for life and liberty here in America and throughout the world," remarked NRB President & CEO Dr. Jerry A. Johnson. “We are privileged to honor Congressman Wolf with the Faith & Freedom Award and look forward to the good work he will do in the years to come. We particularly appreciate his prophetic call to stand up against the current persecution of Christians, which has reached epidemic proportions.”

Congressman Wolf, retiring this year after 17 terms in the House of Representatives, is a longtime champion for religious liberty at home and abroad.  He has traveled to many places around the world that most people avoid. Indeed, he has a heart for the voiceless, and he has worked to call attention to the human rights abuses and religious persecution in many places, including China, Tibet, Romania, Nagorno-Karabakh, Chechnya, Bosnia, Kosovo, East Timor, and the Middle East.  Notably, Rep. Wolf authored the 1998 International Religious Freedom Act, which established the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) and the International Religious Freedom Office at the State Department. Most recently, he and Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO) successfully navigated The Near East and South Central Asia Religious Freedom Act (H.R. 301/S.653), legislation supported by NRB, to final passage through Congress and to the President’s desk.

Rep. Wolf is the senior member of the Virginia delegation in the U.S. House of Representatives. He sits on the House Appropriations Committee, where he is the chairman of the Commerce-Justice-Science Subcommittee. In addition, he is the co-chairman of the Tom Lantos Human Rights Commission, a bipartisan organization that works to raise awareness about international human rights issues. 

NRB annually presents the Faith & Freedom Award to a stalwart defender of religious liberty at its Capitol Hill Media Summit, the annual gathering of the NRB President’s Council in Washington, DC.  Past recipients include former Sen. Sam Brownback (R-KS); former Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN); Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL); Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR); Alan Sears, President  & CEO of Alliance Defending Freedom; Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA); and Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ).

By Aaron Mercer, Vice President of Government Relations

Published: September 12, 2014


You must be logged in to leave a reply. Login »