Senator Roy Blunt Receives NRB Faith & Freedom Award

At its annual Capitol Hill Media Summit this week, NRB presented the 2015 Faith & Freedom Award to Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO). Dr. Jerry A. Johnson, NRB President & CEO, called him an “ally to those who seek to uphold life and liberty here in America and throughout the world” and declared, “Senator Blunt is a man of faith and conviction, and America is well-served to have him in key leadership posts in the U.S. Senate.”

Senator Blunt has been a champion for religious freedom in the U.S. and abroad. In addition to working to fix the Obamacare regulation requiring insurance coverage of abortion-inducing drugs, he has been a vocal advocate for Pastor Saeed Abedini and others who are imprisoned for their Christian faith around the world. Notably, in the last Congress, he and former Congressman Frank Wolf (R-VA) successfully navigated to final passage The Near East and South Central Asia Religious Freedom Act, which authorizes a State Department special envoy dedicated to religious freedom in those regions. Senator Blunt also has been vocal for freedom on-air and online, remaining vigilant against any rebirth of the Fairness Doctrine. 

Before coming to Congress, he was a history teacher, county official, and President of Southwest Baptist University. In the U.S. House of Representatives, he served as Majority Whip, and now in the Senate, he has again been elevated by his peers into leadership as the Vice Chairman of the Senate Republican Conference. Moreover, he is Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee and the Senate Values Action Team, and he has seats on the Senate Appropriations and Commerce Committees. 

NRB annually presents the Faith & Freedom Award to a stalwart defender of religious liberty at its Capitol Hill Media Summit, the annual gathering of the NRB President’s Council in Washington, DC. Past recipients include former Sen. Sam Brownback (R-KS); Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA); Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ); Alan Sears, President & CEO of Alliance Defending Freedom; Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL); Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR); and former Rep. Frank Wolf (R-VA).

By Aaron Mercer, Vice President of Government Relations

Published: October 9, 2015


You must be logged in to leave a reply. Login »